Picture
In this past week we learned about the power of story and mentor texts. The power of story is like when Mr. Schoenborn told the story about when his father was in the waiting room while he was being born. I remember the story because it was sort of funny and it got me to think about how that would be. That is the power of story. Stories can help you remember things, or connect better to things. Mentor texts are texts that you can look at, like Mahraan's and Hayleigh's I believe stories, in order to think about ideas of what you would like your text to be like. You can look at the examples and find the things you liked and include those in your story, and find the things you didn't like and avoid those in your story. This week we did a lot of group discussion and we also broke into small groups and discussed there. That helped me because I could share ideas with a few people before I shared them with the entire class. On a scale of 1-10 I would say that I understand the topics we learned this week at an 8. I could still work on making my story more powerful though. My writing isn't very emotionally charged. 

Andy Schoenborn
10/15/2013 11:59:02 am

Hi Shane,

This post is an excellent reflection of your learning because you take time to reflect on what you've learned.

Reply



Leave a Reply.