This week we learned about the derivatives of trig functions, the derivatives of inverse trig functions, and the derivatives of exponents and logarithms. The derivative of sin(x)=cos(x). The derivative of cos(x)=-sin(x). The derivative of tan(x)=sec(x)^2. The derivative of cot(x)=-csc(x)^2. The derivative of sec(x)=sec(x)•tan(x). The derivative of of csc(x)=csc(x)•cot(x). These are all pretty to apply to the problems because you can still use the chain rule and u substitution and things with them. As for the inverse trig functions I have them all written down in my notes and everything but I don't want to type them out. They are pretty long fractions and it would probably just be a waste of my time to write them all down into my blog. But they are also pretty easy to use. You can basically just plug them in. Sometimes the inverse trig functions can get a little tricky with all the square root stuff and one of them has absolute value and if you don't plug the numbers in cortectly you could make a mistake. As far as the derivatives of exponents the derivative of a^u=a^u•ln(u)•du/dx. This is a pretty easy concept for me. The derivative of e^u=e^u•du/dx. The derivative of ln(u)=1/u•du/dx. All three of these were pretty easy to understand and apply. This whole chapter wasn't very hard it was just knowing how to use what, and when. I got an 18 on the quiz but it was mainly because I made a few small errors and then overthought one problem and made it a lot harder than it really was. I'm glad the test got moved to Monday because I was absent Friday on a field trip. I think the weekend will be good to help me study and give me a little time to finish the review sheet.

Mr. Cresswell
11/6/2013 09:22:03 pm

I'm glad this chapter went well for you!

Reply



Leave a Reply.