Week 7

10/18/2013

1 Comment

 

This week we learned about higher order derivatives, the derivatives of trig functions, and the chain rule. The higher order derivatives we talked about had to do with position, velocity, acceleration, and jerk. Basically you start with position and then take the derivative as many times as you need, like once for velocity, twice for acceleration, and three times for jerk. Next we learned about the derivatives of trig functions. These are pretty easy but it's just hard to memorize all of them so I wrote them on my cheat sheet. I will most likely have them memorized soon if we keep working with them, which I'm assuming we will.We took a quiz on 3.3 and 3.5 and I think that I did pretty good. None of the questions seemed really hard to me so hopefully I got a good score. I think that I did. After the quiz we started to learn about the chain rule. Basically the chain rule is

(f o g)'(x)=f'(g(x))•g'(x). In simpler terms you just have to take the derivative of the outside and just ignore the inside, then multiply that by the derivative of the inside. This concept was fairly easy and I understood the homework pretty well. Then on Friday we learned about how to use the chain rule and u substitution to find the antiderivatives of composite functions. This was confusing. I watched the video and then tried to do the worksheet but I struggled. I understand what u is but and I get how to take the derivative of u but then substituting u in is where I get lost. I don't really understand how that works. I am going to try and do the worksheet and see if it sarts to make some more sense. I will probably try and watch the video over again too. That should hopefully help me out a bit.

Mr. Cresswell
11/6/2013 09:17:46 pm

Great post Shane. I like that you go in depth with explanations of the mathematics. Putting the process into words is a valuable skill.

Reply



Leave a Reply.