This week we learned about limits. The definition of a limit is a point or value that a function can be made to approach progressively until it is as close to the point or value as desired. Basically it the number a function get really really close to at a certain x value. Limits will probably be used in the future with other assignments we will have to do and they will be like a base for our calculus. I understood almost everything this week pretty well. The substitution method for finding limits was really easy but it didn't always work. The hardest part about this week was polishing up my algebra skills. Some of the algebra was a little tough but once I got someone to help me out a little I got it all figured out. One thing we learned was the limit as x approaches 0 of sin(x)/x=1. This is called the sandwich theorem or the squeeze theorem. We watched a video in class about this and the guy talked about if person one eats more than person 2 and person 3 eats less than person 2 and person 1 and 3 eat the same about then person 2 will also eat the same amount. We also learned how to solve these limits on the calculator. Most limits have holes so if you're trying to find the limit of something as x approaches 2 then you would find the values of the graph at 1.99999 and 2.000001. This will usually work to help you find the limit. This week we all got together after a homework assignment and answered the questions we were struggling with on the white boards. I went over to group seven I think and got help with the two problems I struggled with and made sure that I understood them fully. I could still work on my algebra but I have this limit thing pretty much figured out.

Squeeze Theorem

http://www.khanacademy.org/math/calculus/limits_topic/squeeze_theorem/v/proof--lim--sin-x--x




Leave a Reply.