This week we didn't have any school on Monday so we only had four days of actual work. If I remember correctly on Tuesday we just learned some more stuff about the mean value theorem and prepared for the quiz. The quiz we took was an AP style quiz. A lot of people failed it. I got a 9.5 which is still failing but not as bad as some others. The quiz didn't seem too incredibly hard at first but when I got my score back I realized that it was more difficult than I had origanlly thought. The multiple choice questions were the part that really got me. The first two were pretty tricky but after we went over them they made sense. The last part I did mostly correct but I didn't really show my work so I know now that I need to work on that. On Thursday and Friday we started 5.4 and the fundamental theorem of calculus. This fundamental theorem talks about how every continuous function is the derivative of some other function, every continuous function has an anti derivative, and integration and differintiation are inverses of each other. We did a couple proofs to prove these things and make them easier to understand. I sort of understand them but I haven't fully grasped what they mean. All these concepts are pretty new to me so I'm trying to take them all in and comprehend them. That AP style quiz made me realize that the AP is going to be harder than most other tests that I've taken. I usually don't study very hard and still have pretty high scores. Like on the ACT I scored a 27 and didn't study at all but this AP test might be something I study more for. It will be good preparation for college I think.

Mr. Cresswell
1/28/2014 06:42:39 am

The AP Test will be one of the toughest tests you've taken in your high school career, but you'll be ready. You may need to study of it, but like you said, that's good preparation for college. It will be partially my responsibility to continue to give you challenging problems to stretch your brain.

Reply



Leave a Reply.