This week we worked with related rates and optimization and we also took a quiz and a test. Optimization was kind of hard to understand at first. You have to find two equations in the problem and then solve for one variable and it just got confusing at times. It didn't help that all the problems were story problems either. Some problems were worded confusingly and that also hindered me at times. I did really bad on the quiz because I was gone the day we took it and I waited too long before I retook it and I completely forgot how to optimize. I did get to do a mastery though and that really helped. This was my first mastery that I've done and it actually helped me out a lot. I liked that I had to explain myself so that I really knew what I was doing and I wasn't just button punching on my calculator. Also getting the points back that I missed will be really helpful for my grade. I found related rates to be a lot easier than optimization. For related rates I wrote down a four or five step process that made it really easy to solve the problems. These problems were also story problems so they did get confusing at times. The hardest part about these problems for me was finding and the information they told me in the problem and interpreting what it meant. Once I got that figured out it was mostly pretty easy. The test wasn't very difficult it just took me a really long time. I feel like I got most of the problems right. It's getting hard with wrestling to do my homework every night and to remember to do my blogs but I'm trying. It's also hard to find time for everyone in my group to meet and work on the can project. The project itself isn't very difficult it's just finding the time to actually do all the work is a challenge.




Leave a Reply.